Albania and Germany sign agreement for mutual recognition of driving licenses

pasaporta 1 1280x720 1 1100x620

Mr. Oliver Luksic, MdB, Parliamentary Secretary of State at the Federal Ministry for Digital Development and Infrastructure, and Mrs. Belinda Balluku, Minister of Energy and Infrastructure, signed a joint agreement today in Tirana, paving the path for reciprocal recognition of driving licenses.

The new rules will go into effect on June 1, 2022.

Holders of a driving license issued after January 24, 2017 in categories A, A1, A2, B, EU, C, C1, C2, D, D1, D2 (engine, automobile, truck, bus) can convert without taking a new exam.

This is applicable to German citizens (staying in Germany for at least 185 days a year).